Microblog Mondays

Photography is such an immediate process nowadays.

That is one of the reasons the salted paper print workshop I attended yesterday was so exciting. Originally the prints would have been exposed in the sun, but we used a UV lightbox. Still, the exposure times were very long, 15 minutes at least, and how fun it was to open the box every 3 minutes and watch the details slowly appear. And then there is the fixation process so the image does not fade away with exposure to light. Reminded me of how much I enjoyed working in a darkroom.

And I still haven’t got my prints, they take ages to dry after processing, so I can’t post them yet.

In the meantime, here is the story of Fox Talbot and his salted paper printing process:

One thought on “Microblog Mondays

  1. An interesting process: I look forward to seeing the prints. I’m very into photography but have never used a darkroom. I remember film well – how different that was, and how weird that today’s young’uns will have no concept of only having 24 pictures and not seeing them as you take them: must be bizarre for them.

Leave a comment