Microblog Mondays- Home Made Detergents

I have been wanting to learn how to make soap at home for a long time and there was a home made beauty products workshop last saturday where we would learn to make soap, among other things. But there was also a home made detergents workshop on sunday. So I hesitated a lot. So much in fact that time decided for me. The cosmetics workshop was full.

I did make soap, nonetheless, out of used cooking oil, water and caustic soda. It was fun watching the reaction taking place as I was stirring the mixture, and the horrid smell of the used oil started disappearing and giving way to the smell of soap. Now I have to wait 2 weeks for it to cure.

I felt so enthusiastic I registered for the next cosmetics workshop in a few weeks, the only thing that curbs it is the knowing those soaps take months to cure.

87ywk6

Mixing the ingredients

guwowm

Waiting for the curing…

One thought on “Microblog Mondays- Home Made Detergents

Leave a Reply

